The Age chalks up 38 nominations for Melbourne Press Club Quill Awards
14th March 2023

The Age has scored 38 nominations for this year’s Melbourne Press Club Quill Awards for Excellence in Victorian Journalism.

Investigative journalist Adele Ferguson is a finalist for the Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year award for her investigations into the health sector, specifically her reports on Medicare fraud and misconduct in the cosmetic surgery industry.

Investigative journalist Adele Ferguson has been nominated for the Melbourne Press Club’s Journalist of the Year award.Credit:Janie Barrett

Age chief sports reporter Greg Baum and Good Weekend senior writer Konrad Marshall were also nominated for the Harry Gordon Australian sports journalist of the year prize. Baum’s opinion pieces tackled issues such as Novak Djokovic’s deportation and Shane Warne’s death, while Marshall’s feature stories last year included stories on Ben Simmons and Mount Isa’s Indigenous cowboys.

Investigative reporter Nick McKenzie was also nominated for The Grant Hattam Quill for investigative journalism for his work with Amelia Ballinger and Joel Tozer for their Trafficked series on Channel Nine’s 60 Minutes about a global human trafficking ring’s operations. Investigative reporter Kate McClymont is also a finalist for a joint 60 Minutes, The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald investigation with Thea Dikeos about high-profile surgeon Charlie Teo.

All nominees for the Quill for news report in writing were also Age journalists. Health editor Aisha Dow and investigative journalist Nick McKenzie were nominated for their investigation into Victorian triple zero call delays; political reporter Paul Sakkal is a finalist for reporting Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews was being investigated in a fourth IBAC probe; and Chris Vedelago and James Dowling are nominated for reporting a nationwide supermarket recycling program had collapsed.

State political editor Annika Smethurst and reporter Paul Sakkal are also contenders for scoop of the year for their story about the Victorian Liberal donation scandal, which led to the resignation of then Opposition Leader Matthew Guy’s chief of staff.

Two of the three finalists for Best Coverage of an Issue were also from this masthead. Ferguson and the ABC’s Chris Gillett are nominated for Medicare Exposed – a joint investigation with 7.30. Anthony Galloway, Michelle Griffin and photographer Kate Geraghty’s coverage of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine is also in contention.

The Age also took out all the finalist spots for the artwork and cartoon categories. Matthew Davidson is nominated for his Jack’s Story artwork, while Richard Giliberto is also a finalist for Stormy Weather. Matt Golding and Andrew Dyson are nominated alongside Davidson for the Quill for best cartoon.

Matt Golding’s Quill nominated cartoon.Credit:Matt Golding

Three of the four nominees for Innovation in Journalism are also from this masthead.

Other diverse Quill awards that this masthead has been nominated for include breaking news or live coverage, business news/feature, Indigenous affairs reporting, health reporting, disability reporting, feature writing, photography, commentary and podcasting. Age executive assistant Caroline Hartnett was also nominated for Student Journalist of the Year.

The full list of Quill nominations for The Age are below.

Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year

  • Adele Ferguson, investigative journalist, for investigation of fraud and misconduct in the health sector.

Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year

  • Konrad Marshall, senior writer, Good Weekend
  • Greg Baum, chief sports writer, The Age

The Grant Hattam Quill for Investigative Journalism

  • Nick McKenzie, Amelia Ballinger and Joel Tozer, 60 Minutes, Trafficked
  • Kate McClymont and Thea Dikeos, 60 Minutes and The Age, The Price of Hope


  • Matthew Davidson, The Age, Jack’s Story
  • Richard Giliberto, The Age, Stormy Weather

Best Breaking News or Live Coverage

  • The Age online team, The Age, Djokovic deportation saga

Best Coverage of an Issue

  • Adele Ferguson and Chris Gillett, The Age and 7.30, Medicare Exposed
  • Anthony Galloway, Michelle Griffin and Kate Geraghty, The Age, The invasion of Ukraine


  • Matthew Davidson, The Age, Whiplash economics succession
  • Andrew Dyson, The Age, Off-Leash Area
  • Matt Golding, The Age, Indigenous voice to Parliament

Andrew Dyson’s nominated cartoon.Credit:Andrew Dyson

Business News/Feature

  • Eryk Bagshaw and Edward Adeti, The Age, Blood Gold
  • Adele Ferguson and Chris Gillett, The Age and 7.30, Medicare: A Basket Case

Excellence in Indigenous Affairs Reporting

  • Jack Latimore, The Age, Mallee Indigenous group pleads to stop car rally on cultural heritage site

Former treasurer Josh Frydenberg passes the baton on to Labor’s Jim Chalmers.Credit:Matt Davidson

Excellence in Science, Medical and Health Reporting

  • Pallavi Singhal, Daniel Carter and Mark Stehle, The Age, Silent Killer

Feature Writing

  • Adam Carey, The Age, Walking in two worlds: the Territory kids discovering a new school
  • Miki Perkins, Good Weekend magazine, The Torres Strait Islander elders lawyering up to stop their homes from sinking

Features Photograph

  • Eddie Jim, The Age, Graduation
  • Justin McManus, The Age, Johnny and his Dogs: Fighting Fracking

This photo by Justin McManus of Kuranjini man Johnny Wilson has been nominated for a Quill.Credit:Justin McManus

Innovation in Journalism

  • Jewel Topsfield, Matt Davidson, Sophie Aubrey and Margaret Gordon, The Age, Jack’s Story
  • Victoria’s Agenda Team, The Age, Victoria’s Agenda
  • The Visual Stories Team, The Age, Anatomy of the Lismore disaster

Keith Dunstan Quill for Commentary

  • Sean Kelly, The Age, Endings and beginnings

News Photograph

  • Justin McManus, The Age, Rochester Floods

News Report in Writing

  • Aisha Dow and Nick McKenzie, The Age, Triple-0 scandal: wasted time, wasted lives
  • Paul Sakkal, The Age, Operation Daintree: Daniel Andrews under direct investigation in new IBAC probe
  • Chris Vedelago and James Dowling, The Age, Coles, Woolworths recycling scheme collapses after secret stockpiles revealed


  • Richard Baker, Kate Cole-Adams, Julia Carr-Catzel and Kyle Hopkins, The Age, The Confession
  • John Silvester, Tammy Mills, Margaret Gordon and Hanna Mills Turbet, The Age, Naked City
  • Jewel Topsfield, Sophie Aubrey and Margaret Gordon, The Age, Enough

Reporting on Disability Issues

  • Jewel Topsfield, The Age, The autism advantage – why businesses are hiring autistic people

Scoop of the Year

  • Annika Smethurst and Paul Sakkal, The Age, Victorian Liberals’ donor scandal

Sports Feature

  • Konrad Marshall, Good Weekend, Being Ben Simmons
  • Ben Schneiders, Carla Jaeger and Lachlan Abbott, The Age, ‘A cultural mess’: Behind the A-League pitch invasion

Sports Photograph

  • Eddie Jim, The Age, The G.O.A.T

Student Journalist of the Year

  • Caroline Hartnett, University of Melbourne, Rich soil: is regenerative farming an answer to the climate crisis?

The Morning Edition newsletter is our guide to the day’s most important and interesting stories, analysis and insights. Sign up here.

Most Viewed in National

From our partners

Source: Read Full Article