AACTA Awards 2018: ‘Sweet Country’ Leads, Nicole Kidman Shines With ‘Boy Erased’
6th December 2018

Western drama “Sweet Country” dominated the 2018 Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards on Wednesday, December 05, as Nicole Kidman and Joel Edgerton were also honoured for “Boy Erased“.

Australian moviemaker Warwick Thornton landed the coveted Best Film and Best Director prizes for “Sweet Country”, which is set in the 1920s and follows the story of an Aboriginal man who goes on the run after fatally shooting a white adversary in self-defence.

Its star, Hamilton Morris, was the surprise winner for the Best Actor accolade, beating competitors including Lucas Hedges from “Boy Erased”, while the film also earned Thornton and his crew awards for Best Cinematography, Best Original Screenplay, and Best Editing, taking its total tally to six honours.

Kidman triumphed in the Best Supporting Actress category for playing a religious woman who forces her homosexual son, portrayed by Hedges, to undergo gay conversion therapy, securing the title for the second year in a row following her 2017 win for Lion.

Meanwhile, Edgerton, who co-starred and directed “Boy Erased”, picked up the Best Adapted Screenplay gong.

Best Actress went to 17-year-old Angourie Rice for her role in Bruce Beresford’s comedy/drama “Ladies in Black“, and Mentalist star Simon Baker was named Best Supporting Actor for his performance in surfing drama “Breath“.

In the TV categories, “Mystery Road” was declared Best Drama Series, while Deborah Mailman and Wayne Blair landed supporting actor honours, and small screen movie “Riot” won Best Telefeature or Miniseries, Best Lead Actor for Damon Herriman, and Best Lead Actress for Kate Box.

The AACTA Awards, which celebrates the best in film and TV “Down Under”, took place during a ceremony in Sydney on Wednesday night, December 05.

2018 AACTA Award Winners

  • Best film : “Sweet Country
  • Best direction : Warwick Thornton, “Sweet Country
  • Best lead actor: Hamilton Morris, “Sweet Country
  • Best lead actress: Angourie Rice, “Ladies in Black
  • Best supporting actor: Simon Baker, “Breath
  • Best supporting actress: Nicole Kidman, “Boy Erased
  • Best adapted screenplay: “Boy Erased
  • Best Original Screenplay : David Tranter, Steven McGregor, “Sweet Country
  • Best Cinematography: Warwick Thornton, “Sweet Country
  • Best Editing: Nick Meyers, “Sweet Country
  • Best Asian film: “Dying to Survive”
  • Best feature documentary: “Gurrumul”
  • Best drama series: “Mystery Road” (ABC/Bunya Productions)
  • Best telefeature or miniseries: “Riot” (ABC/Werner Film Productions)
  • Best entertainment program: “The Weekly with Charlie Pickering” (ABC/Thinkative TV)
  • Best lifestyle program: “Selling Houses Australia” (Foxtel/Lifestyle/Beyond Productions)
  • Best reality series: “Australian Survivor: Champions vs Contenders” (Network 10/Endemol Shine Australia)
  • Best lead actor in a television drama: Damon Herriman, “Riot”
  • Best lead actress in a television drama: Kate Box, “Riot”
  • Best performance in a television comedy: Hannah Gadsby, “Nanette”
  • Best guest or supporting actor in a television drama: Wayne Blair, “Mystery Road”
  • Best guest or supporting actress in a television drama: Deborah Mailman, “Mystery Road”
  • Longford Lyell Award: Bryan Brown
  • Byron Kennedy Award: Ian Darling AO

Source: Read Full Article