2021 WNBA Finals schedule: Chicago Sky vs. Phoenix Mercury
9th October 2021

The 2021 WNBA Finals are set. The Chicago Sky and Phoenix Mercury will meet in the championship series, which tips off Sunday (3 p.m. ET, ABC/ESPN App). The Mercury, the No. 5 seed in the playoffs, will have home-court advantage; the Sky are the sixth seed.

This year’s Finals will be a rematch of the 2014 title series. Phoenix swept Chicago that season, with Diana Taurasi winning Finals MVP as the Mercury won their third title. Phoenix, which also won championships in 2007 and 2009, is 3-1 all-time in the Finals; the Mercury lost to Houston in a best-of-three series in 1998.

This marks Chicago’s second Finals appearance. The Sky clinched their return trip Wednesday, becoming the lowest-seeded team to make the Finals under the current playoff format, which has been in place since 2016. No team seeded lower than third had ever reached the Finals before.

The Sky were 16-16 in the regular season; the Mercury were 19-13. Their combined regular-season win percentage is .547 (35-29 W-L), which is the lowest combined win percentage in a WNBA Finals matchup in league history.

Chicago knocked off the top-seeded Connecticut Sun in the semifinals, while Phoenix advanced after winning a decisive Game 5 on the road Friday against the second-seeded Las Vegas Aces.

The WNBA Finals are a best-of-five series, played in a 2-2-1 format.

WNBA Finals (best-of-five)

Sunday, Oct. 10
Game 1: Chicago at Phoenix, 3 p.m. ET (ABC)

Wednesday, Oct. 13
Game 2: Chicago at Phoenix, 9 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Friday, Oct. 15
Game 3: Phoenix at Chicago, 9 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Sunday, Oct. 17
Game 4*: Phoenix at Chicago, 3 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Tuesday, Oct. 19
Game 5*: Chicago at Phoenix, 9 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

* If necessary

Semifinals (best-of-five)
Tuesday, Sept. 28
Game 1: Chicago Sky 101, Connecticut Sun 95 (2OT)
Game 1: Las Vegas 96, Phoenix Mercury 90

Thursday, Sept. 30
Game 2: Connecticut Sun 79, Chicago Sky 68
Game 2: Phoenix Mercury 117, Las Vegas Aces 91

Sunday, Oct. 3
Game 3: Chicago Sky 86, Connecticut Sun 83
Game 3: Phoenix Mercury 87, Las Vegas Aces 60

Wednesday, Oct 6
Game 4: Chicago Sky 79, Connecticut Sun 69
Game 4: Las Vegas Aces 93, Phoenix Mercury 76

Friday, Oct. 8

Game 5: Phoenix Mercury 87, Las Vegas Aces 84

Second round (single-game elimination)
Sunday, Sept. 26
No. 5 Phoenix Mercury 85, No. 4 Seattle Storm 80
No. 6 Chicago Sky 89, No. 3 Minnesota Lynx 76

First round (single-game elimination)
Thursday, Sept. 23
No. 6 Chicago Sky 81, No. 7 Dallas Wings 64
No. 5 Phoenix Mercury 83, No. 8 New York Liberty 82

Source: Read Full Article