How many Harry Potter books are there? – The Sun
5th April 2021

IT'S now twenty-three years since Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, the first book in the series by JK Rowling, was published.

Here's all you need to know about the world-famous franchise which made the author a billionaire.

How many Harry Potter books are there?

The Harry Potter literary series spans seven books, each corresponding to a year-long period (usually Harry’s school year).

In order, the books are:

  • Harry Potter And The Philosopher's Stone
  • Harry Potter And The Chamber of Secrets
  • Harry Potter And The Prisoner of Azkaban
  • Harry Potter And The Goblet of Fire
  • Harry Potter And The Order of the Phoenix
  • Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince
  • Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows

As well as the original series, there is also a complementary range of books, including Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them, Quidditch Through The Ages and The Tales of Beedle The Bard.

And while many of us have copies of the series lying around our homes, it turns out that certain editions are worth a small fortune.

The magic surrounding JK Rowling’s popular series certainly hasn’t died down over the years – as collectors still snap up rare books for thousands of pounds.

In November 2017, a rare jewel-encrusted Harry Potter book was even put up for £500,000 at auction.

What are the differences between the Harry Potter books and the films?

The debate surrounding which is better out of the Harry Potter books and films has raged on since the first film hit cinemas in 2000.

There are a number of differences between the two, with many characters that play a secondary or even active role in the books, that are completely omitted or mentioned only in the films.

The likes of Charles Weasley and Bertha Jorkins play a far larger role in the literature than they do in the film equivalent.



Source: Read Full Article